Skip to main content

Awards Committee

Bette Packer and Sharon Smith

Each year at the MEHA Annual Banquet held during the Spring Educational Conference, awards are presented to deserving people or organizations for their service to the Association and Environmental Health. Awards are presented in the following categories:

Frank A. Staffenson Environmental Health Professional of the Year Award
This award is presented to the MEHA member who has performed an outstanding accomplishment that significantly contributes to the development, expansion, or advancement of environmental health or performed a service that has produced a positive benefit to the profession as a whole. This individual must have been an active member of the Association for at least 5 years and have been active in the field of Public Health for at least 10 years. Click here for information about Frank Staffenson and a list of past recipients..

Emerging Professional Award
This award is presented to the MEHA member who has earned the respect of peers for outstanding service in the promotion of and contribution to the EH profession, demonstrates an extraordinary dedication to Environmental Health, contributes to the advancement of the Environmental Health profession, and actively participates in MEHA activities. The candidate must have not more than 5 years professional experience in Environmental Health.

Merit Award
This award is given to one or more individuals or an organization for outstanding service to the Association.  The recipient(s) may be either a MEHA member or a non-member.  More than one (1) award may be presented.

Nominations for awards should be sent to the Awards Committee Chair by March 14, 2014. Award nomination forms are available below.

Frank A. Staffenson Award Nomination Form

Emerging Professional Award Nomination Form

Merit Award Nomination Form

Please direct questions about the awards to the Awards Committee Chair, Rob Carper: