Frank A. Staffenson Award

Given to the Minnesota Environmental Health Professional of the Year

Since 1971, the Minnesota Environmental Health Association has annually recognized one person as an outstanding environmental health professional. The award is presented to the MEHA member who has performed an outstanding accomplishment that significantly contributes to the development, expansion, or advancement of environmental health or performed a service that has produced a positive benefit to the profession as a whole.

The award was renamed in 2002 by the membership to honor Frank A. Staffenson, R.S. for his many years of service to the citizens of Saint Paul, to MEHA, and to the environmental health profession. Frank was the Director of Environmental Health for the City of Saint Paul for many years. He was honored in 1985 with the award that was later named for him.

Frank Anders Staffenson, R.S.

Frank A. Staffenson, R.S.

June 20, 1933 - February 11, 2002

We fondly remember Frank for his dedication to our profession, his magnificent sense of humor, but most of all, his kind and generous heart.

Frank A. Staffenson Environmental Health Professional of the Year
2019 Anthony Georgeson
2018 Jeff Brown
2017 Steven Diaz
2016 Shannon Rohr
2015 Kim Carlton
2014 Chris Forslund
2013 Lynn Moore
2012 Frank Sedzielarz
2011 Angie Wheeler Cyr
2010 Debra Anderson
2009 Hank Schreifels
2008 Lori Green
2007 Jeff Luedeman
2006 Colleen Paulus
2005 Sue Hibberd
2004 Bette Packer
2003 Karen Casale
Outstanding Environmental Health Professional of the Year
2002 Joe Hibberd
2001 Karen Swenson
2000 Kent Rees
1999 Barbara McCarthy
1998 Sharon Smith
1997 Craig Gilbertson
Outstanding Sanitarian of the Year
1996 Jim Feddema
1995 Larry Carlson
1994 Bonnie Holz
1993 Steve Olson
1992 Richard Holloway
1991 Jack Caldwell
1990 Joan Gilchrist
1989 Dora May Coleman
1988 Dave Fridgen
1987 Roger Carlson
1986 Jim Witkowski
1985 Frank Staffenson
1984 Richard Astrup
1983 Ernie Petersen
1982 Don Lawrence
1981 C.B. (Charlie) Schneider
1980 Del Matavosky
1979 Robert Hutchison
1978 William McCausland
1977 Margaret Christianson
1976 Gary Otness
1975 Curt Anderson
1974 James Brinda
1973 none
1972 Harvey McPhee
1971 Lee Stauffer